Ulkoministeriö/Utrikesministeriet

MFA: OECD peer review of Finland's development cooperation almost complete

Jaa

MINISTRY FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS
http://formin.finland.fi/english

Press release 185/2017
25 October 2017

OECD peer review of Finland's development cooperation almost complete

The Development Assistance Committee of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) is in the process of finalising a peer review of Finland’s development cooperation efforts. The review report to be published in December praises Finland for its provision of rapid and flexible humanitarian aid, while it also urges Finland to prepare a schedule for raising its development assistance to meet the target level of 0.7% of GNI.

The OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC) has been engaged in the peer review process examining the Finnish development policy and development cooperation for about a year. The review process culminates in a peer review meeting to be held in Paris on 25 October. In the meeting, Finland will present its responses to the examiners’ observations and recommendations. The Finnish delegation is led by Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Kai Mykkänen.

The peer review examines the recent-year trends in the Finnish development cooperation and takes a look at how Finland has managed to address the previous recommendations issued by the OECD.

Finland is praised for providing humanitarian aid in a rapid and flexible manner. Finland receives recognition also for the fact that it has successfully concentrated its assistance on select partner countries and thematic priorities. Concentration on areas where Finland has own expertise has further enhanced the impact of Finland’s development cooperation efforts. These include the promotion of the rights of women and girls and the position of disabled people in the development cooperation.

In the review meeting, Finland will present its achievements in the field of disability inclusion to the other DAC members.

“Finland has engaged in long-term efforts to improve the position of people with disabilities since the 1980s. Our cooperation with disabled people's own organisations is downright unique in the international scale,” says Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Kai Mykkänen.

Peer reviews conducted by the OECD Development Assistance Committee provide member countries with an opportunity to learn from each other’s best practices. The review process is characterised by constructive criticism: the reviewed member is encouraged to further improve its development cooperation.

Finland is urged to draw up a scheduled roadmap on how it will raise the level of its official development assistance to the set target level of 0.7% of GNI.

The peer review also examines another priority area in the Finnish development policy, i.e. the advancement of the economies of developing countries through collaboration with the private sector.  The review calls for Finland to outline more precise policies for the cooperation with the private sector.  Finland is also encouraged to ensure that emphasising the role of the private sector does not draw attention away from eradication of poverty.

“Eradicating extreme poverty and reducing poverty and inequality are the main objectives for our development policy. These objectives cannot, however, be achieved, if developing countries do not manage to enhance their economies and create jobs. This is what Finland’s cooperation with the private sector is all about. The cooperation also places emphasis on the enhancement of climate know-how in the developing countries,” Minister Mykkänen says.

The Development Assistance Committee (DAC) of the OECD conducts reviews of the development cooperation efforts of each Committee member every five years. Spain and Italy served as the examiners and Israel as the observer in the review of Finland. The peer review report will be published in Helsinki on 8 December.

Inquiries: Satu Santala, Director General of the Department for Development Policy, tel. +358 40 752 1770, and Pasi Rajala, Special Adviser to the Minister for Foreign Trade and Development, tel. + 358 400 464 393.

 

The Foreign Ministry’s email addresses are in the format firstname.lastname@formin.fi.

Liitteet

Linkit

Tietoja julkaisijasta

Ulkoministeriö/Utrikesministeriet
Ulkoministeriö/Utrikesministeriet
Kanavakatu 3 C, PL 481
00023 Valtioneuvosto

0295 350 000http://um.fi

Tilaa tiedotteet sähköpostiisi

Haluatko tietää asioista jo ennen kuin ne uutisoidaan? Kun tilaat tiedotteemme tältä julkaisijalta, saat ne sähköpostiisi yhtä aikaa suomalaisen median kanssa. Tilauksen voit halutessasi perua milloin tahansa.

Lue lisää julkaisijalta Ulkoministeriö/Utrikesministeriet

UM: Res utan strul i Madventures-stil16.1.2018 12:00Tiedote

UTRIKESMINISTERIET http://formin.finland.fi/svenska Pressmeddelande 6/2018 16.1.2018 Res utan strul i Madventures-stil Utrikesministeriet deltar i resemässan Matka 2018 tillsammans med Institutet för hälsa och välfärd (THL). Mässan hålls i Helsingfors mässcenter den 18 till 21 januari 2018. Du hittar utrikesministeriet och THL i monter 6s61. Hur kan jag resa lika tryggt som Madventures-typerna och slippa strul? Varför är det viktigt att göra en reseanmälan? Hur kan jag förbereda mig så att jag hålls frisk under resan? Kan man undvika jet lag? I utrikesministeriets och THL:s gemensamma monter får du svar på de här och många fler frågor om att resa tryggt. Experter på säkerhet och hälsofrågor delar med sig praktiska tips för hur du reser tryggt och klarar kniviga situationer. I en diskussion som leds av Madventures-duon Riku Rantala och Tunna Milonoff berättar erfarna resenärer om smarta sätt att förbereda sig inför en resa och utrikesministeriets experter på nöd- och krissituationer för

UM: Matkusta Madventuresin tapaan – tunaroi vähemmän16.1.2018 12:00Tiedote

ULKOMINISTERIÖ http://formin.finland.fi Tiedote 6/2018 16.1.2018 Matkusta Madventuresin tapaan - tunaroi vähemmän Ulkoministeriö osallistuu yhdessä Terveyden ja hyvinvoinnin laitoksen (THL) kanssa Matka 2018 -messuille. Messut järjestetään Helsingin Messukeskuksessa 18.1.–21.1.2018. Ulkoministeriö ja THL löytyvät osastolta 6s61. Miten matkustan turvallisesti kuin Madventuresin tyypit enkä kuin tunaroiva Turakainen? Miksi matkustusilmoitus on tärkeä? Miten varaudun, jotta pysyn terveenä matkalla? Voinko välttää aikaerorasitusta? Ulkoministeriön ja THL:n yhteisosastolla saat vastauksia näihin ja muihin matkustusaiheisiin kysymyksiin. Matkustusturvallisuuden ja matkailuterveyden asiantuntijat jakavat käytännöllisiä vinkkejä turvalliseen matkustamiseen sekä neuvoja kiperiin tilanteisiin. Madventures-kaksikon Riku Rantalan ja Tunna Milonoffin vetämässä keskustelussa matkustamisen konkarit kertovat fiksuista tavoista valmistautua reissuun sekä hätä- ja kriisitilanteiden asiantuntijat selvent

MFA: Travel the Madventures' way – avoid difficulties16.1.2018 12:00Tiedote

MINISTRY FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS http://formin.finland.fi/english Press release 6/2018 16 January 2018 Travel the Madventures' way – avoid difficulties The Ministry for Foreign Affairs and the National Institute for Health and Welfare (THL) will have a joint stand at the Travel Fair 2018, to be held at the Expo and Convention Centre in Helsinki from 18 to 21 January 2018. They can be visited at stand 6s61. How can I travel safely the Madventures' way and avoid running into the kind of difficulties that Turakainen does? Why is it important that I register my travel details with the Foreign Ministry? What precautions should I take to stay in good health when travelling? Can I avoid jet lag? At the joint stand of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs and THL you will get answers to these and other questions related to travelling. Experts in travel safety and travel health will offer useful tips for safe travelling and practical guidance for difficult situations. Riku Rantala and Tunna Milonoff, th

UM: Titta Andersson-Bohren ministeri Mykkäsen erityisavustajaksi15.1.2018 16:35Tiedote

ULKOMINISTERIÖ http://formin.finland.fi Tiedote 5/2018 15.1.2018 Titta Andersson-Bohren ministeri Mykkäsen erityisavustajaksi Ulkomaankauppa- ja kehitysministeri Kai Mykkäsen erityisavustajana aloittaa 1. helmikuuta Titta Andersson-Bohren. Titta Andersson-Bohren, 33, on koulutukseltaan yhteiskuntatieteiden maisteri Tampereen yliopistosta sekä Master of Russian and Eurasian Studies Pietarin eurooppalaisesta yliopistosta. Hän on aikaisemmin toiminut muiden muassa Suomen Würthin asiakaspalvelun ja myynnin tuen osastopäällikkönä, EU-asiantuntijana viestinnän konsulttiyrityksessä Brysselissä sekä MEP-avustajana Euroopan parlamentissa. Andersson-Bohrenin lisäksi Tuomas Rautanen jatkaa Mykkäsen erityisavustajana. Lisätietoja: erityisavustaja Tuomas Rautanen, puh. 050 325 8827. Ulkoministeriön sähköpostiosoitteet ovat muotoa etunimi.sukunimi@formin.fi.

MFA: Meeting of the chairs of the Finnish-Russian Intergovernmental Commission for Economic Cooperation15.1.2018 13:06Tiedote

MINISTRY FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS http://formin.finland.fi/english Press release 4/2018 15 January 2018 Meeting of the chairs of the Finnish-Russian Intergovernmental Commission for Economic Cooperation The chairs of the Finnish-Russian Intergovernmental Commission for Economic Cooperation will meet in Moscow on 16 January. The Economic Commission will be co-chaired by Finland's Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Kai Mykkänen and Deputy Prime Minister of Russia Dmitri Kozak. ""Trade between Finland and Russia is developing favourably. At the same time, Russia's tightening import substitution policy causes problems, and several separate challenges need to be discussed, such as a possible export ban on birch logs to be imposed by Russia. I intend to discuss the situation with Deputy Prime Minister Kozak and to help in reaching a solution to the problems," Minister Mykkänen says. In Moscow, Mykkänen will also attend the Gaidar Forum. The Forum is an annual event, convened to discuss th

UM: Ordförandena för Finlands och Rysslands ekonomiska samarbetskommission träffas15.1.2018 13:06Tiedote

UTRIKESMINISTERIET http://formin.finland.fi/svenska Pressmeddelande 4/2018 15.1.2018 Ordförandena för Finlands och Rysslands ekonomiska samarbetskommission träffas Ordförandena för den ekonomiska samarbetskommissionen för Finlands och Rysslands regeringar träffas i Moskva den 16 januari. Utrikeshandels- och utvecklingsminister Kai Mykkänen är finländsk ordförande och vice premiärminister Dmitrij Kozak är rysk ordföranden i samarbetskommissionen. ”Det pågår en positiv trend i handeln mellan Finland och Ryssland. Samtidigt orsakar det restriktiva programmet för importersättning svårigheter och det finns flera andra enskilda problem, till exempel Rysslands eventuella begränsning av exporten på björktimmer. Jag har för avsikt att utbyta information med vice premiärminister Kozak om saken och tänker anstränga mig för att problemen blir lösta”, säger minister Mykkänen. Minister Mykkänen ska också delta i det så kallade Gaidar-forumet i Moskva. Gaidar-forumet är ett årligen återkommande evene

Uutishuoneessa voit lukea tiedotteitamme ja muuta julkaisemaamme materiaalia. Löydät sieltä niin yhteyshenkilöidemme tiedot kuin vapaasti julkaistavissa olevia kuvia ja videoita. Uutishuoneessa voit nähdä myös sosiaalisen median sisältöjä. Kaikki STT Infossa julkaistu materiaali on vapaasti median käytettävissä.

Tutustu uutishuoneeseemme