Ulkoministeriö / Utrikesministeriet

MFA: EU development ministers to discuss gender equality and debt sustainability in partner countries


EU development ministers will gather to discuss debt sustainability and debt relief in partner countries on 23 November 2020. Minister for Development Cooperation and Foreign Trade Ville Skinnari will represent Finland in the informal video conference.

The COVID-19 pandemic has weakened the economic situation and deepened the debt crisis in many developing countries. As a result, debt sustainability in developing countries has attracted international attention once again.

"Finland emphasises that ensuring debt sustainability in developing countries is a joint mission for all EU Member States. We must take the role of China and the private sector into consideration and encourage them to take part in the mission”, says Minister for Development and Foreign Trade Ville Skinnari.

At their meeting, EU development ministers will also discuss gender equality and promoting the empowerment of women in all external relations. The EU’s new action plan for promoting gender equality in external relations, Gender Action Plan, will be published on 24 November. This year marks the 25th anniversary of the adoption of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, aimed at strengthening women's human rights, and the 20th anniversary of the adoption of UN Resolution 1325 ‘Women, Peace and Security’.

“All women and girls have the right to have control over their own bodies, sexuality and reproduction. Including sexual and reproductive health and rights in the action plan will promote its implementation. It is important that the action plan cover all external relations. In accordance with UN Resolution 1325 ‘Women, Peace and Security’, Finland will continue its efforts to strengthen the role of women in peace processes”, Minister Skinnari says.


Kirsi Airio, Special Adviser to the Minister for Development Cooperation and Foreign Trade, tel. +358 50 574 1729, and Satu Santala, Director General of the Department for Development Policy, tel. +358 40 752 1770.

The Foreign Ministry’s email addresses are in the format firstname.lastname@formin.fi.



About Ulkoministeriö / Utrikesministeriet

Ulkoministeriö / Utrikesministeriet
Ulkoministeriö / Utrikesministeriet
Kanavakatu 3 C, PL 481
00023 Valtioneuvosto

0295 350 000http://um.fi

Subscribe to releases from Ulkoministeriö / Utrikesministeriet

Subscribe to all the latest releases from Ulkoministeriö / Utrikesministeriet by registering your e-mail address below. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Latest releases from Ulkoministeriö / Utrikesministeriet

MFA: Minister for Foreign Affairs Haavisto attends meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council3.12.2020 08:53:51 EETPress release

Minister for Foreign Affairs Pekka Haavisto will attend the Ministerial Council of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe on 3–4 December 2020. The Foreign Ministers of the OSCE participating States will participate in the meeting via video teleconferencing (VTC) under the leadership of Albania, which holds the current OSCE Chairmanship. The meeting aims to decide on appointments of senior OSCE officials and to confirm the Chairmanships for 2023 and 2024.

UM: Utrikesminister Haavisto deltar i OSSE:s ministerrådsmöte3.12.2020 08:52:48 EETTiedote

På torsdagen och fredagen den 3–4 december 2020 deltar utrikesminister Pekka Haavisto i OSSE:s ministerrådsmöte (Organisationen för säkerhet och samarbete i Europa). OSSE-ländernas ministrar deltar i diskussionen på distans under ledning av ordförandelandet Albanien. Vid mötet ska ministrarna godkänna utnämningar till de högsta posterna inom organisationen och fastställa ordförandeländerna för 2023 och 2024.

UM: Ulkoministeri Haavisto osallistuu Etyjin ministerikokoukseen3.12.2020 08:51:29 EETTiedote

Ulkoministeri Haavisto osallistuu Euroopan turvallisuus- ja yhteistyöjärjestön (Etyj) ministerineuvoston kokoukseen torstaina ja perjantaina 3.-4.12.2020. Etyj-maiden ministerit osallistuvat keskusteluun etäyhteydellä vuoden 2020 puheenjohtajavaltio Albanian johdolla. Kokouksessa on tarkoitus hyväksyä nimitykset Etyjin korkeimpiin johtotehtäviin sekä vahvistaa vuosien 2023 ja 2024 Etyjin puheenjohtajamaat.

In our pressroom you can read all our latest releases, find our press contacts, images, documents and other relevant information about us.

Visit our pressroom