Ateneumin taidemuseo / Konstmuseet Ateneum / Ateneum Art Museum

Press preview, Wed 13 November at 11:00: Through My Travels I Found Myself – Helene Schjerfbeck and Finnish Artists in Ruovesi

Share

You are cordially invited to the press preview for the exhibitions Through My Travels I Found Myself – Helene Schjerfbeck and Finnish Artists in Ruovesi. Introduction to the exhibitions begins at 11:05 at the Ateneum’s third floor. The exhibitions will be open for preview until 13:00.

Helene Schjerfbeck: Girls Reading (1907). Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Hannu Aaltonen. | Hugo Simberg: Spring Evening when the Ice Is Melting (1897). Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Pirje Mykkänen.
Helene Schjerfbeck: Girls Reading (1907). Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Hannu Aaltonen. | Hugo Simberg: Spring Evening when the Ice Is Melting (1897). Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Pirje Mykkänen.

The event will be opened by the Museum Director of the Ateneum, Marja Sakari. The exhibition Through My Travels I Found Myself – Helene Schjerfbeck will be presented by its curator Anna-Maria von Bonsdorff, the chief curator of the Ateneum. The exhibition Finnish Artists in Ruovesi will be presented by its curator Anu Utriainen, the senior researcher of the Ateneum. The event will be in Finnish. After the presentations of the exhibitions, complimentary coffee will be served at Café Ateneum on the third floor. 

To book your place at the event, register by Monday 11 November at: pressconference@ateneum.fi

Through My Travels I Found Myself – Helene Schjerfbeck
15 November 2019 – 26 January 2020

The exhibition describes how Helene Schjerfbeck became Helene, and how a talented student grew into one of the most influential artists in our history. The exhibition focuses specifically on Schjerfbeck’s years of travel, during which she stayed in Paris, Pont-Aven in northern France, Fiesole in Italy, and St Ives in England at the end of the 19th century.

The works in the exhibition include landscapes, still lifes, and depictions of people who were important to the artist. The exhibition also includes 16 of Schjerfbeck’s self-portraits from the period between 1884 and 1945, presented in a chronological order, which makes for an interesting viewing experience. In total, the exhibition features some 130 paintings, drawings and sketchbooks.

Get to know the exhibition

Finnish Artists in Ruovesi 
15 November 2019 – 26 January 2020

Ruovesi and its surroundings in Pirkanmaa have attracted artists since the 1820s. All the artists who have operated in the region are linked by an interest in the spirit of the place, its nature, people and culture. How has this influenced the art of those who have worked in Ruovesi?

Akseli Gallen-Kallela (1865–1931), Ellen Thesleff (1869–1954) and Elga Sesemann (1922–2007) all had their own villas built in Ruovesi. Werner Holmberg (1830–1860) and Hugo Simberg (1873–1917) also took a liking to the region. Other artists featured in the exhibition are Lauri AnttilaGabriel EngbergKalle Löytänä and Louis Sparre. The exhibited works date from the 1850s to the 1980s.The exhibition presents works that depict the people and landscapes of the region, along with artists’ self-portraits. A total of 140 works are on display and they date from the 1850s to the 1980s.

Get to know the exhibition

Keywords

Contacts

Anna Kari, Communications Officer, tel. +358 40 717 8185, anna.kari at ateneum.fi

Press photos: press.ateneum.fi | username: ateneum | password: mediat

Images

Helene Schjerfbeck: Girls Reading (1907). Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Hannu Aaltonen. | Hugo Simberg: Spring Evening when the Ice Is Melting (1897). Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Pirje Mykkänen.
Helene Schjerfbeck: Girls Reading (1907). Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Hannu Aaltonen. | Hugo Simberg: Spring Evening when the Ice Is Melting (1897). Finnish National Gallery / Ateneum Art Museum. Photo: Finnish National Gallery / Pirje Mykkänen.
Download

About Ateneumin taidemuseo / Konstmuseet Ateneum / Ateneum Art Museum

Ateneumin taidemuseo / Konstmuseet Ateneum / Ateneum Art Museum
Ateneumin taidemuseo / Konstmuseet Ateneum / Ateneum Art Museum
Kaivokatu 2
00100 HELSINKI

0294 500 401http://www.ateneum.fi

Ateneum Art Museum is Finland’s leading art museum, which houses Finnish art from the 19th century to the modern age. Ateneum is part of the Finnish National Gallery, together with the Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma and Sinebrychoff Art Museum. www.kansallisgalleria.fi/en

Ateneum’s main corporate partner is HOK-Elanto. The partners for the exhibition Through My Travels I Found Myself – Helene Schjerfbeck are Helsingin Sanomat and Scandic.

 

Subscribe to releases from Ateneumin taidemuseo / Konstmuseet Ateneum / Ateneum Art Museum

Subscribe to all the latest releases from Ateneumin taidemuseo / Konstmuseet Ateneum / Ateneum Art Museum by registering your e-mail address below. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Latest releases from Ateneumin taidemuseo / Konstmuseet Ateneum / Ateneum Art Museum

Magnus Enckell exhibition at the Ateneum – 150 years since the versatile artist’s birth16.7.2020 10:22:30 EESTPress release

A major exhibition of works by the painter Magnus Enckell (1870–1925) will be shown on the third floor of the Ateneum Art Museum, from 23 October 2020 to 14 February 2021. The exhibition offers a comprehensive overview of the work of one of the most significant names of the golden age of Finnish art, and presents him as a multifaceted cultural influencer. The Ateneum celebrates the artist’s 150th birthday on Monday, 9 November 2020, when the museum is exceptionally open.

Magnus Enckells utställning till Ateneum – 150 år sedan den mångsidiga konstnärens födelse16.7.2020 10:22:09 EESTTiedote

På Konstmuseet Ateneums tredje våning visas 23.10.2020–14.2.2021 en stor utställning av målaren Magnus Enckells (1870–1925) konst. Utställningen presenterar ett täckande urval ur en av guldålderns mest betydelsefulla konstnärers produktion och lyfter fram honom som en mångsidig opinionsbildare inom kulturlivet. Ateneum firar konstnärens 150-årsdag måndagen den 9 november 2020 då museet undantagsvis håller öppet.

Magnus Enckellin näyttely Ateneumiin – 150 vuotta monipuolisen taiteilijan syntymästä16.7.2020 10:21:22 EESTTiedote

Ateneumin taidemuseon kolmannessa kerroksessa nähdään 23.10.2020–14.2.2021 taidemaalari Magnus Enckellin (1870–1925) suurnäyttely. Näyttely esittelee kultakauden merkittävimpiin kuuluvan taiteilijan tuotannon kattavasti ja tuo hänet esiin kulttuurielämän monipuolisena vaikuttajana. Ateneum juhlistaa taiteilijan 150-vuotissyntymäpäivää maanantaina 9.11.2020, jolloin museo on poikkeuksellisesti avoinna.

In our pressroom you can read all our latest releases, find our press contacts, images, documents and other relevant information about us.

Visit our pressroom