DNA Oyj

DNA Plc’s Business Review for January-September 2021: Positive development in total revenues and EBITDA, popularity of 5G products continues to grow

Share

DNA’s business developed steadily in January-September 2021. Total revenues, mobile revenues and EBITDA are on the increase, and the popularity of 5G products continues to develop positively.

DNA’s business developed steadily in January-September 2021. Image: DNA
DNA’s business developed steadily in January-September 2021. Image: DNA

Summary of DNA’s key figures for January-September 2021 

Unless otherwise stated, the comparison figures in brackets refer to the corresponding period in the previous year (reference period). Figures are unaudited.

  • Mobile revenues grew 2% and amounted to EUR 422 million (413).
  • Total revenues grew 2% and amounted to EUR 705 million (690).
  • EBITDA increased 8% and was EUR 271 million (250).
  • Operating result decreased 1% and was EUR 117 million (119).
  • Average revenue per user (ARPU) for mobile communications increased 2% and was EUR 17.0 (16.7).
  • The number of mobile subscriptions9) increased and was 2,707,000 (2,706,000).
  • The number of fixed subscriptions (telephony, Internet and TV) grew 1% and was 902,000 (895,000).
    • The number of fixed broadband subscriptions increased by 28,000.

CEO’s review

Having taken the helm of DNA on Monday 11 October, I am happy to have the opportunity to discuss very positive growth figures in what is my very first CEO’s review. Furthermore, the positive development we have experienced during the exceptional circumstances is not limited to financial success – we also run our business in a more responsible way, have enhanced our customer experience and are a more flexible employer. At DNA, we live and breathe our values every day. 

According to DNA’s key figures, our business development remained steady in January-September 2021. Our total revenues grew 2% from the reference period and amounted to EUR 705 million (690). Our mobile revenues were also up, by 2%, and amounted to EUR 422 million (413). DNA’s EBITDA has developed well in 2021, growing 8% to EUR 271 million (250). Our operating result also remained steady at EUR 117 million (119), down 1% from the reference period.

Our mobile communication subscription base increased by 1,000 from the reference period. At the same time, our average revenue per user (ARPU) increased to EUR 17.0 (16.7). The number of fixed subscriptions was up by 7,000. While the number of fixed voice and TV subscriptions decreased, the number of fixed broadband subscription grew by 28,000.

Sales of 5G subscriptions have clearly gained momentum during 2021. This is reflected in the sales of 5G phones, and 70% of the phones sold this year are 5G models. This development is driven by the quick construction of our 5G network, which already reaches more than half of the population. Quickly expanding 5G coverage has also boosted the sales of DNA’s 5G Fixed Wireless Access subscriptions.

At the end of the third quarter, the large majority of DNA’s personnel continued to work remotely. DNA’s remote working recommendation expired in mid-October at the same with the national remote working recommendation, immediately increasing the utilisation rate of our premises. While I am glad to see our employees returning to our modern facilities, I am equally pleased with the fact that they can continue to choose freely where and how they work. It’s not either-or, it's both.

Jussi Tolvanen
CEO

Key figures

EUR million

1-9/2021

1-9/2020

Change, %

1-12/2020

Subscription and traffic

 383

 375

2

 500

Interconnect revenues and inbound roaming

 29

 31

-4

 41

Mobile revenues company's subscriptions

 413

 405

2

 541

Other mobile revenues

 9

 8

16

 11

Total mobile revenues

 422

 413

2

 552

Non-mobile revenues 1),2)

 123

 121

2

 172

Total revenues mobile operation 2)

 545

 534

2

 723

 

     

Telephony

         12

         12

-1

         17

Internet and TV 3)

       117

       109

7

      147

Data services

           -

          -  

-

          -  

Other revenues 4)

         19

         22

-12

         29

Total fixed retail revenues

       148

       144

3

      193

Wholesale revenues 5)

         12

         12

-2

         16

Total Revenues fixed operation

       160

       155

3

      211

Total revenues 6)

       705

       690

2

      932

 Of which internal revenues

-

           -  

 

-

         

EBITDA before other income and expenses 2)

       271

       248

9

 330

Other income and expenses

       (0)

           2

-108

 2

EBITDA 2),6),7)

       271

       250

8

 333

Depreciation and amortisation

(153)

(131)

17

 -181

Impairment losses

 -  

           -  

-

 -  

Operating result 2)

       117

119

-1

 151

 

       

EBITDA before other income and expenses/Total revenues (%)

38

36

7

35

EBITDA/Total revenues (%)

38

36

6

36

Operating result/Total revenues (%)

17

17

-4

16

         

Capex 8)

      117

       224

-48

308

Capex excl. licences and spectrum and IFRS16

         92  

96

-4

171

         

Mobile:

       

No. of mobile subscriptions (in thousands) 9)

    2,707

    2,706

0

 2,694

 of which prepaid 10)

       219

       218

1

 209

Average traffic minutes per subscription per month (AMPU) in the quarter

          -  

          -  

0

 

Average revenue per subscription per month (ARPU) in the quarter 11)

      17.0

      16.7

2

 16.8

 of which contract (postpaid)

      17.7

      17.4

2

 17.5

 of which prepaid

 8.3

 8.3

0

 7.9

         

Fixed:

       

No. of subscriptions retail market (in thousands)

       

- Telephony

         28

         33

-14

 31

- Internet

       601

       573

5

 584

- TV 3)

       273

       289

-6

 285

         

ARPU in the quarter - Telephony

      39.3

      37.2

6

 42.1

ARPU in the quarter - Internet

      16.4

      16.3

0

 16.3

ARPU in the quarter - TV

        7.5

        6.2

21

 5.9

  1. Device sales and sales from non-mobile business.
  2. A one-time correction has been made to handset revenue and cost (non-mobile revenue) for the previously reported quarters of 2021. The correction has a negative impact on EBITDA in the third quarter of 2021 but has no material impact on the year-to-date figures by the end of September.
  3. TV = cable pay-TV and DNA TV.
  4. Digita, maintenance, WLAN/LAN, data security, special services (for professionals) etc.
  5. Access & Capacity services, fixed voice interconnection etc.
  6. Total revenues and EBITDA before other income and expenses differ from those previously reported for 2020 due to the transition to Telenor's reporting method. This is a classification difference of EUR 2 million in the comparison period 1–9/2020 and at the same time in the whole of 2020.
  7. DNA reassessed the duration of short-term leases in 2020 based on the new owner and new long-term forecast. The effect of the reassessment on EBITDA was EUR 15 million in January-August 2021.
  8. Capex no longer includes frequency payments. In the future, DNA reports the acquisition cost of a new frequency as an investment at the time of acquisition.
  9. Postpaid, prepaid, mobile home phone (“Luuri”) and mobile broadband subscriptions.
  10. Prepaid subscriptions used or loaded within the past three months.
  11. ARPU = Monthly mobile revenues (company’s subscriptions) and traffic revenues + interconnection / average number of subscriptions.

Additional information:

Jussi Tolvanen, CEO, DNA Plc, +358 44 044 1000, jussi.tolvanen@dna.fi

Maria Strömberg, CFO, DNA Plc, +358 44 044 3270, maria.stromberg@dna.fi

DNA Corporate Communications, +358 44 044 8000, communications@dna.fi

Images

DNA’s business developed steadily in January-September 2021. Image: DNA
DNA’s business developed steadily in January-September 2021. Image: DNA
Download

Links

About DNA Oyj

DNA Oyj
DNA Oyj
PL 10
01044 DNA

http://www.dna.fi

DNA is one of the leading telecommunications companies in Finland. We want to make our customers' daily lives less complicated. We offer connections, services and devices for homes and workplaces, contributing to the digitalisation of society. DNA's customers are continuously among the world mobile data usage leaders. DNA has about 3.6 million subscriptions in its fixed and mobile communications networks. The company has been awarded numerous times as an excellent employer and family-friendly workplace. In 2020, our total revenue was EUR 934 million and we employ about 1,600 people around Finland. DNA is a part of Telenor Group, a leading telecommunications company across the Nordics. More information: www.dna.fi, Twitter @DNA_fi, Facebook @DNA.fi and LinkedIn @DNA-Oyj.

Subscribe to releases from DNA Oyj

Subscribe to all the latest releases from DNA Oyj by registering your e-mail address below. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Latest releases from DNA Oyj

What is work like in the digital world? DNA will start cooperation with Plan to promote digital inclusion for immigrant youth29.11.2021 09:00:00 EET | Press release

DNA and the children's rights organisation Plan International Finland will start promoting digital inclusion and diversity in their new joint project. DNA’s main objectives for the cooperation include increasing diversity in its own operations and providing young people with an immigrant background the opportunity to explore the ICT sector as a workplace.

Millaista on työ digimaailmassa? DNA aloittaa yhteistyön Planin kanssa maahanmuuttajanuorten digitaalisen yhdenvertaisuuden edistämiseksi29.11.2021 09:00:00 EET | Tiedote

DNA ja lastenoikeusjärjestö Plan International Suomi lähtevät edistämään digitaalista yhdenvertaisuutta ja monimuotoisuutta uudessa yhteisessä hankkeessaan. DNA:n päätavoitteina alkavassa yhteistyössä on lisätä monimuotoisuutta omassa toiminnassaan sekä tarjota maahanmuuttajataustaisille nuorille mahdollisuutta tutustua ICT-alaan työpaikkana.

Do you keep your Wi-Fi modem inside your switchboard? DNA’s specialist evaluates 10 common internet myths23.11.2021 10:00:00 EET | Press release

Over the years, we have all surely dealt with a slow or malfunctioning internet connection and tried various tricks to improve the coverage and speed of our internet connection. DNA has compiled some general claims about the functioning of your internet connection and how to improve it. The company’s Director of Radio Networks Jarkko Laari will now assess whether or not they are true.

Ethän säilytä WiFi-modeemiasi sähkökaapissa? DNA:n asiantuntija arvioi 10 yleistä nettimyyttiä23.11.2021 10:00:00 EET | Tiedote

Jokainen meistä on vuosien varrella ollut tekemisissä pätkivän tai huonosti toimivan nettiyhteyden kanssa, ja monet ovat kokeilleet useita erilaisia kikkoja kuuluvuuden ja hitaan nettiyhteyden parantamiseksi. DNA kokosi yhteen yleisiä väittämiä netin toiminnasta sekä yhteyden parantamisesta ja yhtiön radioverkkojohtaja Jarkko Laari arvioi nyt, pitävätkö ne paikkansa.

All DNA 5G base stations are now connected to a standalone 5G core network — the new technology increases speed and reduces latency18.11.2021 09:45:00 EET | Press release

All of the 5G base stations in DNA’s own network are now connected to a core network that supports standalone 5G architecture. Customers will be able to start using services of the standalone network gradually during 2022, once all quality assurance has been completed in the production network. Until now, 5G technology has relied on the 4G core network.

Kaikki DNA:n 5G-tukiasemat on nyt liitetty itsenäiseen 5G-ydinverkkoon – uusi teknologia lisää nopeutta ja vähentää viivettä18.11.2021 09:45:00 EET | Tiedote

Kaikki DNA:n oman verkon 5G-tukiasemat on nyt liitetty itsenäistä 5G-arkkitehtuuria tukevaan ydinverkkoon. Asiakkaille itsenäisen verkon palveluiden käyttöönotto tulee mahdolliseksi vaiheittain vuoden 2022 aikana, kunhan kaikki laadunvarmistukset on tuotantoverkossa saatu tehdyksi. Tähän asti 5G-tekniikka on tukeutunut 4G-ydinverkkoon.

In our pressroom you can read all our latest releases, find our press contacts, images, documents and other relevant information about us.

Visit our pressroom